There are situations where a job must be cancelled. While it can be frustrating, it is good to know how the cancellation and refund process works. The golden rule is that communication is key! Before submitting a cancellation request always make sure to contact the other party to let them know what is going on and discuss alternative options to cancelling. Please find below the process and FAQs regarding cancelling a job.


Steps to cancel a job:

1. Submit a Cancellation Request

(If you did not initiate the cancellation request, but rather you received an email saying a cancellation request was submitted by your transport provider, you can skip straight to step 2).

Login to Truckit and go to My Listings, then click on the listing you would like to cancel to open the listing page. Once on the listing page, find and click the option to 'Request Cancellation'. You will be asked to fill out a cancellation form which includes:

  • Comments on the situation for Truckit admin to review.
  • A rating and review section for your Provider that will appear on their public profile. 
  • A checkbox option to relist your job and get new quotes. Read more in our FAQs below.


2. The other party responds to the Request

We will notify the other party of the cancellation request and seek their response. If you are the responder, you can respond to a cancellation request by going to My Listings and clicking on the 'Pending Cancellation' listing. Once the listing page opens, click 'View Cancellation Request' and fill out the form. Should the responder not reply in our reasonable, given timeframe the cancellation request will automatically proceed to the next step.


3. Truckit reviews and processes the Request

Based on the information supplied and any further required investigation, TruckIt will decide to process the cancellation or if it is determined that the job has in fact gone ahead, the cancellation will be withdrawn. 


4. Cancellation approved

Once the cancellation request has been approved by Truckit, any monies paid via Truckit will be added refunded as Truckit Credit or back to your original payment method, depending on the cancellation reason. Where you have only paid Truckit a Booking Deposit, you will need to seek a refund directly from yoru transport provider if you have paid any of the remaining balance of your quote.


Note: If your refund amount is $1,000 or less and you chose to Relist your job when submitting or responding to the cancellation request, you will be automatically refunded to Truckit credit to assist in speeding up the process of finding and booking a new Provider. You can read more below on how to claim your Truckit Credit if you do not find a new Provider. 


Frequently Asked Questions - FAQs

What if I still need my job done?

When submitting or responding to a cancellation request, you will have an option to 'Relist' your job if you would like to receive new quotes to get the job done. In order to help speed up the process of finding and booking new provider for your job, you wll be automatically refunded to Truckit Credit after both parties have responded if:

  • You ticked the box to 'relist' your job when submitting or responding to the cancellation request; AND
  • The refund due from Truckit under $1,000


How to use or claim my Truckit credit?

If you have Truckit Credit, it will automatically apply to your next booking or any delivery booked within one year.


If you have no plans to use Truckit.net within the next year, no problem! Once the cancellation is completed, all you need to do is contact our Customer Support team via support@truckit.net to request that the credit be refunded. In certain circumstances, such as change of mind you may not be eligible for a refund of your Truckit credit.


Refunds back to your original payment method are typically credited within 3-7 business days of the date they are issued.


How do I get a refund from my transport provider?

Depending on the payment terms of the quote you accepted, you will either have paid the full amount (Truckit Pay) or only a small deposit (Booking Deposit) at the time of booking. Where you have booked with the Booking Deposit model, the remaining balance of your quote is paid directly to your transport provider. Therefore in the case of cancellation, you will need to discuss and claim a refund of any monies paid to your provider directly with them.